Guilty Pleasures

by tylernielsen

So…I’m not quite 21 (ok, 6 months to go yet), but I often end up cooking with alcohol. While home last weekend, and with permission from Dad of course, I made home-made beer bread. Mmmmmmm.

Growing up, we would occasionally get a Tastefully Simple pre-packaged mix. It was a special treat. However, as a college kid, I’m not super likely to spend $8.00 on a mix that – surprise – you can easily make yourself. So that’s what I did.

Here’s the recipe:

3 C. All-purpose Flour (I prefer wheat)

1Tbsp. Baking Powder

4Tbsp. Sugar

12 Oz. Beer (any kind works)

Melted Butter, if desired

 

Preheat oven to 325F. Combine dry ingredients. Grease loaf pan. Add beer to dry ingredients. Stir until thick batter is formed – careful not to over mix. Hand beating is best. Put dough in loaf pan. If desired, brush with melted butter. Bake for approximately 45 minutes – bake time with vary with brand and style of beer.

 

Anyway – super easy. Super simple ingredients. And super delicious. In fact, I felt a little guilty. But, oh well!

