Much Ado About…Nothing

by tylernielsen

From one day to the next, life whirs by. Here. Gone. On one hand, I feel more busy than ever; and on the other hand, I don’t know what I do with my life. Today, I was blessed to chat with a friend I met on a mission trip a few years ago. She recently packed up everything and moved from Fort Collins, Colorado to Orlando, Florida to serve with CRU Ministries. In a matter of a few weeks, she went from waking up to mountains, trees, and cool breezes to hot, muggy, and entirely unfamiliar. As we were filling each other in on our lives, I realized that I have entered a season where I am constantly looking to the future. I know what’s coming and am feeling the need – the pressure, really – to prepare. I feel that the Lord has guided and directed my steps and set His plans before me. Wonderful. Perfect. I know what’s coming…in seven months. I hear myself say, “The Lord is the God of tomorrow!” and rejoice. But, He’s also the God of today. And I often neglect TODAY. 

“This is the day the Lord has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24), “Today if you hear His voice, harden not your heart…” (Hebrews 3:7,8) “Whatever is true…think of this..” (Philippians 4:8). 

I find myself day dreaming and looking forever to the next big thing when it’s already before me. The Lord has laid in front of me my daily bread, everything I need for each moment and forevermore. This encouraged me today to press on. Praise God for His lessons and faithful reminders. 

