Pumpkin Zucchini Quinoa Muffins

by tylernielsen

Pumpkin Zucchini Quinoa Muffins

Over the past year and a half, my interest in health has grown immensely. As a Type 1 Diabetic, I was taught values on the nutrition labels from an early age. I could count carbohydrates, protein, fiber, sugar – you name it – in my sleep. Although I had the factual knowledge, it didn’t really matter to me enough to apply it. My parents would try to encourage me, appealing to my perfectionist personality (“Think of it like a grade at school – you need an A!”) When that didn’t work, they moved to scare tactics, showing me pictures of people who had had appendages and limbs amputated because of high blood sugar levels. After nearly 12 years of trying, they’d almost given up.

Last year I began to see my health in a different light. Less of something I had to manage and more of something I am blessed to enjoy. I picked up running and cooking and my health improved drastically overall. Not to mention, my self worth improved drastically.

That being said, I’ve become quite the adventurous cook. My roommates are often skeptical of the recipes I get excited about (such as tofu smoothies). However, this one was a winner! There’s only natural sugar (unless you choose to add in chocolate chips); but very tasty! 

 

