Nobody’s Home

by tylernielsen

Throughout the course of the semester, my anxiety and stress levels have sky-rocketed. Every day seems to present an opportunity to panic. Whether it’s work or school – or the combination of both, something always seems to be going wrong. 

This morning, it happened to be school. An email pinged in my inbox. Upon reading it, I discovered that (once again) my DARs report shows an inconsistency. Basically, because I came to college as a PSEO student (I was a senior in high school) and then re-enrolled as a freshman, I’m on two different liberal arts core programs. My generals are screwed up and the system doesn’t know which one to follow. Oh the joys! 

Jaw clenching, muscles tightening, heart rate soaring…and then I remembered these words from Luke 10:34-35:

“Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

Breathe. Breathe. Breathe. As anxiety stands at the door breathing heavily, I realize that I have two options. I can open it, or leave anxiety as a stranger out in the cold. Stress and anxiety are selfish monsters that take their hosts captive to thoughts that revolve around the impact a situation has on MY life, MY circumstances, MY comfort…When I invite stress and anxiety into my home, it’s as if I believe that God can’t and won’t help me. Jesus is not in control. To declare that He is sovereign and able, I will instead, leave the door unopened. No one’s home today…anxiousness, go away. 

