My Speculations

by tylernielsen

This past week I wrote an article for the SPUR on the new Mustang logo. However, as it was not an editorial, my own thoughts were omitted. After hearing most everyone else’s opinions, I think I’ll take this opportunity to share mine. 

As for the actual logo….Stanger’s new look is indeed fierce. At first glance, he’s actually a tad bit frightening. A family friend who graduated in ’98 thinks he looks rather “knight-ish”. Several conversations I’ve had with alumni have gone about the same…overall, Stanger looks a lot less friendly that he used to. Not that a face-less running horse can look incredibly frightening. 

Now, the marketing scheme. The first time I heard that a new logo had been revealed, I was incredibly confused. There hadn’t seemed to be any sort of great ruckus raised over the old one. No one I knew was complaining about an outdated logo….What was the need being fulfilled? 

We’re told that as the school itself changes, so should its extensions (logos, branding, etc.). Indeed, a revised logo gives more graphic opportunities and advertising options. I’ve seen school logos that have been “updated” for other schools and I’ve taken classes on the marketing behind logos. With that in mind, the biggest reason I can see for Stanger’s update is a profit margin. 

Our athletic director revealed that this was a two-year project. Much time, energy, and effort obviously went into creating the new logo. And with a new logo comes foreseeable costs – athletic gear, advertisements, broadcasting graphics, bulletin boards, gym floors (there’s been rumor that the RA flooring will be updated using the new logo, which probably means there will be other aesthetic-type updates around campus), fan apparel, etc. The list truly goes on and on. 

The school will both spend a lot of money on these updates as well as earn a lot of money from them. Aside from direct costs for approved use, there’s also a percentage the university will earn from copyrighting the image. Obviously, the hope is that the return in much greater than the expenditure. No matter how you slice it, though, change is money. 

